Quote Originally Posted by Shurrikhan View Post
As in keeping within the kit some effect that's thematically tied to the idea of Oblation (an offering) and would therefore fit its name.

As others have pointed out before, Oblation could as easily go and be replaced entirely; if we're already making significant revisions to the kit, there's no hard rule that there must be a skill named Oblation in what results.


So, I'm now a bit more confused. What is the triggering action for Dark Mind's consumption? I thought the idea was that when you hit Oblation, Dark Mind is consumed but Oblation stays. You're saying here that they're both consumed? Just Oblation? Or is it a totally separate action that then consumes Oblation?

How does one consume an effect but still have it?

I'd give my two cents on the result, but I'd prefer clarification on this first before I walk myself into a butcher's yard again over an ambiguity (or, my poor comprehension).
It would be a new skill entirely, it would not be Oblation. You could use one stack of Oblation, consume it with this hypothetical mitigation, then use your second stack if it was necessary. Let's call this hypothetical ability Occult Acumen (FFXI reference) for clarity sake. This would give DRK the most personal mitigations but (TBN aside) with all of them being pretty weak, I think it's a matter of trading out strength for duration and requiring stacking them since smaller percentages have smaller diminishing returns. So you'd be able to consume Dark Mind and Oblation, with more consumed abilities making the healing effect stronger, with no heal at all if nothing is consumed.