Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Player
    ZeroFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3
    Character
    Klynthota Zirnmerlwyb
    World
    Lamia
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 80

    Creating a Roulette Macro

    I am curious if it is possible to create a custom roulette macro for emotes similar to the Minion Roulette or the Mount Roulette. Specifically, I am looking for a single button that will pick a repetitive emote (like a dance, sweeping, ritual prayer, etc.) from a list at random and execute it.

    I've been digging through the macro stuff trying to figure out a way to do it, but I've had no luck so far.
    (0)

  2. #2
    Player
    Rongway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,139
    Character
    Cyrillo Rongway
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Black Mage Lv 100
    There is not a way to do this for emotes because emotes are all* available under the same conditions. Macros can't do random; they can only prioritize and run the first available action. If you try to do this with emotes, it will just always do the first emote and ignore the rest.

    * The exception is if for emotes that are only available in a certain position (standing, sitting, mounted, etc). In this case being in an invalid position will skip the emote and execute the first one that is valid in your current position.
    (3)
    Error 3102 Club, Order of the 52nd Hour

  3. #3
    Player
    ZeroFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3
    Character
    Klynthota Zirnmerlwyb
    World
    Lamia
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 80
    Pity, I was hoping to get rid of an action bar full of emotes because I can never remember the names to type them out. Oh well. Thanks for the response!
    (0)

  4. #4
    Player
    MilkieTea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Location
    Interdimensionality
    Posts
    2,134
    Character
    C'erise Vanesse
    World
    Maduin
    Main Class
    Red Mage Lv 90
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroFan View Post
    Pity, I was hoping to get rid of an action bar full of emotes because I can never remember the names to type them out. Oh well. Thanks for the response!
    you could create a menu macro to have it populate an actionbar with different things (emotes, minions, mounts etc) by copying hotbars from starter classes (cnj, pld, etc) this way you technically only use 1 hotbar for all of this.

    saves space on the screen and looks pretty darn cool.
    (3)

  5. #5
    Player
    Ardyvald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    44
    Character
    Ardent-vale Nelkatyr
    World
    Cerberus
    Main Class
    Paladin Lv 90
    Quote Originally Posted by MilkieTea View Post
    you could create a menu macro to have it populate an actionbar with different things (emotes, minions, mounts etc) by copying hotbars from starter classes (cnj, pld, etc) this way you technically only use 1 hotbar for all of this.

    saves space on the screen and looks pretty darn cool.
    I second that. I did this (for jobs, mounts, emotes and extras) and this saves lots of space.

    It takes a bit of time to set this up, but once done, you'll be good.
    (2)

  6. #6
    Player
    Catwho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    2,723
    Character
    Katarh Mest
    World
    Lamia
    Main Class
    Warrior Lv 100
    Thirding the hotbar setup. There are tutorials on YouTube on how to do it. (The genius bit to me was utilizing the empty second and third *class* hotbars for this purpose - it would have never occurred to me. Here's hope SE leaves those alone in 6.0)
    (1)

  7. #7
    Player
    ZeroFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3
    Character
    Klynthota Zirnmerlwyb
    World
    Lamia
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 80
    I'll have to look into that. Thanks for the suggestion!
    (0)

  8. #8
    Player
    Rongway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,139
    Character
    Cyrillo Rongway
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Black Mage Lv 100
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroFan View Post
    I'll have to look into that. Thanks for the suggestion!
    Here's a fairly recent example I posted in another thread. This menu example is job switcher related, but can be adapted to other things. That thread also has some other discussion about what can and can't be done with macros as they relate to making your own menus.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rongway View Post
    There are no control structures and you can't use a slash command to assign a macro to a hotbar slot. But here are some things you can do:

    • Copy entire hotbars with the /hotbar copy (normal hotbars) and /chotbar copy (cross hotbars) commands.
    • Use "current" as a source job or destination job argument when using the /(c)hotbar copy commands.
    • Use "share" as a source job or destination job argument ...
    • Use a base combat class as a source job or destination job argument ...
    • Use "share" as an argument even if the bar number in question is not shared.
    • Use a specific class or job as an argument even if the bar number in question is shared.

    Shared bars are their own barset separate from the barset for each job. The base combat classes each also have their own barset separate from their upgrade jobs' barsets. All shared bars, class bars, and job bars exist, regardless of Share settings and job unlock states.

    To read the help file for a command, use the /? command:
    Code:
    /? hotbar
    For example:


    This example requires bars 8 and 10 to be Shared bars.
    Each role category is just a macro that copies hotbar 10 from some job in the role to my shared "job menu" hotbar:

    Code:
    Casters: /hotbar copy blm 10 share 8
    Healers: /hotbar copy whm 10 share 8
    Tanks:   /hotbar copy pld 10 share 8
    Rangers: /hotbar copy brd 10 share 8
    Meleers: /hotbar copy mnk 10 share 8
    For each role, set up the share 8 bar to have all the gearsets for that role, and all the macros to change role categories. As you set up each version of the bar, you can reverse the command to save share 8 to the chosen job for each role:
    Code:
    /hotbar copy share 8 JOB 10
    Once all five roles' bars are saved, click any of the role categories to change share 8 to the job menu for that role category. This works because I have bars 8 and 10 set to Shared. When I save one of the bars to blm 10, it saves the bar to blm 10, which still exists even though it is invisible due to being overshadowed by Share 10.

    If you want to have one category be a default or home, you can set the macros to wait and restore the default or home bar. For example, to revert automatically to the Caster role menu, make all the other role switchers do:

    Code:
    /hotbar copy JOB 10 share 8 <wait.15>
    /hotbar copy blm 10 share 8


    Conversely, you can hide things in the share bars where the bars are not Shared. For example, using share 1 as a swap buffer while changing a job's bars.
    Code:
    /mlock
    /hotbar copy current 1 share 1
    /hotbar copy current 7 current 1
    /hotbar copy share 1 current 7
    
    /hotbar copy current 2 share 1
    /hotbar copy current 8 current 2
    /hotbar copy share 1 current 8
    
    /hotbar copy current 3 share 1
    /hotbar copy current 9 current 3
    /hotbar copy share 1 current 9
    This example requires bars 1,2,3 to be job-specific and bars 7,8,9 to be Shared.
    This macro swaps out the current job's 1,2,3 bars for 7,8,9 bars that have been hidden under share 7,8,9, using share 1 as a swap buffer. After activating this macro, the original 1,2,3 bars will be stored in the current job's specific 7,8,9. Activating the macro again will swap back to the original bars.

    The /mlock in the first line forces the macro to execute all the way to the end, so you don't somehow interrupt the macro and end up with half your bars from the wrong set.
    (0)
    Error 3102 Club, Order of the 52nd Hour