Player
    Character
    Penitenz Vonuberwald
    World
    Twintania
    Main Class
    Bard Lv 64

New player confused

Hello there folk. I recently started playing this with friend and we're kinda liking the game.
    We rolled a new char on Twintania which was preferred so this helped us dart our crafting profession to 50+ really fast - our main jobs are around 50 as well, but we're still at freeing Minfilia from Castrum Centri in the story, so a bit behind our level.

We were trying to gear up our crafter and looked at the recipes in the 51+ band but there's a craftmanship requirement bump which is really ... weird.
    We're all around 250 craftmanship and now I see requirement of 400+?

Have looked in the weaver recipes and the green Legion stuff seems barely approachable for crafting, but - unless my numbers are wrong - the overall craftmaship that gear will give, even on HQ won't be making up to 400...?

Have I missed something? Or all will clear once we open Heavensward and buy the basic gear there?

Thanks for the hints.
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Aurelie Moonsong
    World
    Bismarck
    Main Class
    Summoner Lv 90
    Everything has a big bump in stats between expansions. Battle classes are the same.

Once you reach the end of the main game and (at the time) the associated level cap, there was originally a period where stronger gear of the same level was released with a new patch every few months. So when new players reach that point, there's a big jump where people originally went through several smaller steps.

Getting the Lv51 gear is definitely the easiest route. Check if it's on the marketboard for a decent price, or (as you said) just wait until you reach Ishgard and can buy it from the NPC supplier.
    (2)

Player
    Character
    Caimie Tsukino
    World
    Zalera
    Main Class
    Goldsmith Lv 90
    Try to get this set: