Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Player
    Character
    Amazonia Kitsune
    World
    Siren
    Main Class
    Archer Lv 12

Mouse and keyboard or controller and which kind of skill set up/bar etc?

Hi i havent played many games like ffxiv before nor have i used a controller, and watching streamers of the game i feel a little overwhelmed with all the bars and set ups using both. I have tried both and am still not sure which i find easier to use as of yet pad or mouse,can anyone tell me which they find easiest and the hotbar system, skillset ups they find easiest ie 1-9 or QWERTY or F1 to F12 ect as i am a bit of a novice.
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Nosam Kin
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Summoner Lv 80
    You will get a huge variety of answers. Some people love the controller, others keyboard/mouse.
    However, many of the keyboard/mouse players have mice with extra buttons or they use a game pad.
    Personally I use a mouse, Razer orbweaver, and a normal keyboard. The orbweaver is has programmable keys so you can set it up however you like.
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Amazonia Kitsune
    World
    Siren
    Main Class
    Archer Lv 12
    yea i have an omen mouse and corsair keyboard lol im not very computer savvy tho wish i was even with pad tho i still find myself having to use mouse and keyboard
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Tessa Logrim
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 80
    I've never tried to use the controller so i can't say for sure, but i've heard it's actually quite good.

As for KBM, i have a "classic" gaming mouse with only 2 thumb buttons, so nothing too crazy. I use one thumb button to target, and the other to focus the target.

I have 3 hotbars with the following bindings :
    1 2 3 4 5 q e r f c
    With CTRL : 1 2 3 4 q e r f c
    With ALT : 1 2 3 4 q e r f c
    With LSHIFT : q e r f