Player
    Character
    Fais Yila
    World
    Odin
    Main Class
    Scholar Lv 80

FFXIV : Stormblood - The State of Hunts

*Disclaimer: This thread was intended to be one long post, but it is very much "tl;dr" and well over the 1000 character limit. I shall be breaking it up into post(s)

Preface: Hello, I'm Fais Yila on Odin server in EU Datacenter. I started playing during Heavensward with the release of the first leg in the Alexander raid, and I quickly became largely invested in hunting -- being a part of 8 linkshells dedicated purely to spawning/hunting, and actively participating in the spawning of S ranks along with calling out hunts. I may not have the experience many players from ARR have in regards to hunts, but speaking as someone who has been active since Alex was introduced in HW, and as someone who loves to introduce new players (and older players alike) to hunts, I do believe that some changes need to be made, not only for the sake of keeping hunts interesting for those of us who have been doing them for a long time, but also for those who are new to hunting altogether.
    (1)

Player
    Character
    Fais Yila
    World
    Odin
    Main Class
    Scholar Lv 80
    The meat of the issue (pt 1)

Ever since hunts have existed, there have been problems that the community has said Hunting has: "Leechers," "early-pullers," "ninjakillers." Such things have existed since hunts have existed. The hunt community is in a state of constant disagreement. Hunts are too easy vs too hard; open world content vs implied need to work together. Many times these issues have been discussed, and many times the argument goes out: "Do not be entitled," "This is open world content," "If you want the hunts, do not allow leeches," "You are not a true hunter if you are not spawning and killing," "There is no such thing as early-pulling," "Ninjakilling does not exist," "If you want the hunt, be online," "I do not have time to wait for other players," etc.
    (0)

Player