You would need customer service to confirm, but based on what I've read and what their billing system displays, here is what I think will happen.

1. Your friend will start paying after his 30 days. The start of billing for the rest of us won't affect him. His free trial expiration date should show up in his SE account after he activates his copy.

2. The rest of us just got an extra long free trial. We all have to start paying on the 5th/6th depending on time zone.