Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Player
    Lord_Miakeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    6
    Character
    Prince Miakeus
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    Dark Knight Lv 59

    [Request: Fix Macro Clipping ] Please support my initiative to fix macro clipping.

    The Problem

    The recast time on certain abilities aren't in integer multiples of a second so if you lock a macro and use the wait command you're going to encounter macro clipping.

    Macro clipping is when your recast timer clips abilities in a second macro you're spamming during the ~0.5 second interval macrolock comes off and your recast timer for the executed ability is in effect.

    Video Demonstrating Macro Clipping:
    https://youtu.be/J73GDRw7mTA

    The Solution

    This is easily implementable in the game. Simply add another macro called macrolockrc <defaultrecast_time> which will lock the macro for the recast time of a subset of spells/abilities. Ideally it would be affected by skill speed and spell speed so the macro is spamable with a subset of abilities.

    Example:

    Code:
    /macrolockrc 2.5
    /ac "Hard Slash"
    This would lock the macro for the recast period of hard slash.

    Thank you for your feedback.
    (1)

  2. #2
    Player
    Legion88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ul'dah
    Posts
    1,527
    Character
    Baradaeg Ryssbhirwyn
    World
    Lich
    Main Class
    Warrior Lv 80
    The reason is normal skills get into a skill queue when activated for like 0.5 seconds.
    Macros don't get into a skill queue, they are activated the moment they are in line in the macro.

    This is intended to prevent that macros are used to automate the game.
    (2)

  3. #3
    Player
    Lord_Miakeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    6
    Character
    Prince Miakeus
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    Dark Knight Lv 59
    Quote Originally Posted by Legion88 View Post
    The reason is normal skills get into a skill queue when activated for like 0.5 seconds.
    This is wrong.

    The reason was explained in my first post and in the video. The execution of the command in the second macro is clipped by the recast timer and generates an error instead of executing ability. Everything in my post is independent of skill queues.

    Quote Originally Posted by Legion88 View Post
    Macros don't get into a skill queue, they are activated the moment they are in line in the macro.
    This is wrong as well.

    Firstly macros aren't executed at all they are thrown into the chatbox they are not code. So there is no in line execution.

    Quote Originally Posted by Legion88 View Post
    This is intended to prevent that macros are used to automate the game.
    Look locking a macro for X.XX time will not allow people to automate the game any more or less than they do currently. It makes macros usable.

    Your post was 100% wrong.

    Next.
    (0)

  4. #4
    Player
    Legion88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ul'dah
    Posts
    1,527
    Character
    Baradaeg Ryssbhirwyn
    World
    Lich
    Main Class
    Warrior Lv 80
    For you understanding:

    THEY DON'T WANT TO HAVE EFFECTIVE MACROS FOR COMBATCLASSES.

    They even said so in a LiveLetter long long ago in the early 2.x or even 1.x era.
    It is intended by design.
    (1)

  5. #5
    Player
    Niwashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5,248
    Character
    Y'kayah Tia
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    Ninja Lv 50
    You shouldn't have multiple combat actions in a macro with a wait command between them. That was why SE removed the tenth of a second granularity /wait used to have during beta. They WANT macros to be inefficient, so that you're not stringing actions together through them.

    At most, a macro should have just one combat action that's expected to take place. The macro can be used for things like combining it with a notification to your party, or for choosing between multiple possible actions or targets (like do action x to either <t>, <tt>, or <mo> as appropriate). But if they worked well for using an action followed by another action followed by another action, then people could automate their rotations, which this is designed to prevent.


    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Miakeus View Post
    ... recast timer clips abilities in a second macro you're spamming during the ~0.5 second interval...
    Then don't spam another macro during that time. If the first macro is still executing, starting another would break it, as you cannot have two macros running at once. (And for that matter, why would you spam any action in this game? You should only be pressing a button once for each time it's supposed to take effect.)
    (0)

  6. #6
    Player
    Lord_Miakeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    6
    Character
    Prince Miakeus
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    Dark Knight Lv 59
    Quote Originally Posted by Niwashi View Post
    You shouldn't have multiple combat actions in a macro with a wait command between them. That was why SE removed the tenth of a second granularity /wait used to have during beta. They WANT macros to be inefficient, so that you're not stringing actions together through them.
    I don't think it's a matter of what Square Enix's design philosophy is. Its what we want as consumers of one of the most expensive games on the market. Not having effective combat macros in one of the most expensive combat based games out there is just hipster. Just hipster.

    Should people want to spam their non-game breaking macros I think they are entitled to do just that. This change wont break the game. I'm not asking for a 0.5 second wait timer I'm asking for a macrolock timer which is different.

    Don't get me wrong I love this game it's the macro implementation that makes this game irritating to play.

    I want to spam macros and assume others do too.
    (0)

  7. #7
    Player
    Rongway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,139
    Character
    Cyrillo Rongway
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Black Mage Lv 100
    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Miakeus View Post
    Don't get me wrong I love this game it's the macro implementation that makes this game irritating to play.
    If you macro so many things that macros make the game "irritating to play", you're macroing too many things and playing the game wrong.

    There is nothing to fix here--gamewise, anyway.
    (0)
    Error 3102 Club, Order of the 52nd Hour

  8. #8
    Player
    Hasrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    3,288
    Character
    Hashmael Lightswain
    World
    Zalera
    Main Class
    Black Mage Lv 90
    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Miakeus View Post
    Its what we want as consumers of one of the most expensive games on the market.
    If there's one thing anyone in any service industry will tell you, it's that the customer is never right.
    (1)

  9. #9
    Player
    Lord_Miakeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    6
    Character
    Prince Miakeus
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    Dark Knight Lv 59
    Quote Originally Posted by Rongway View Post
    If you macro so many things that macros make the game "irritating to play", you're macroing too many things and playing the game wrong.

    There is nothing to fix here--gamewise, anyway.
    What are you talking about? Saying there is nothing to fix. Having macros locked for recast periods comes standard in any modern MMO it just makes rational sense to do. I honestly don't understand how you can say I'm playing the game wrong if I'm macroing my abilities to a great extent. It is a game, games are for enjoyment and having advanced macros is my play style. This is how I have fun. If you meant that I'm not playing the game as intended then I'd have to say the intentions of the game designer are horrible.

    If you prefer to hit every single ability in the game manually that's fine. You may like bashing rocks together too. Who am I to criticize?
    (0)

  10. #10
    Player
    Rongway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,139
    Character
    Cyrillo Rongway
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Black Mage Lv 100
    Your original post (and the linked video) has single abilities macroed. This is not appropriate because it increases the time commitment for each action. Because macroed actions do not participate in the ability queue, they cannot be activated until they are clear of animation lock or cooldowns. This is intentional. Therefore, you should not macro single actions except in the case of (1) alternate targeting of heals or buffs via the tags <mo> (mouseover), <tt> (target of target), <f> (focus target), or <2>-<8> (party slots), which decreases the cognitive load of using an action on a party member or (2) automatically centering ground target abilities on a target entity, which is the unusual case of a macro actually saving time. Outside of these two scenarios, there is no good reason to have a macro that just executes one action.

    Your second post shows a gross misunderstanding of the macro system, and this is fine for a new adventurer; we are explaining it to you so you understand. /macrolock does not take any arguments; you can verify this by typing "/? macrolock". The macrolock is not why your second macro refuses to fire. Your second macro refuses to fire because (a) you're firing it during the global cooldown and (b) its purpose is to execute an action that shares the global cooldown. Because of B, it will not execute the intended action until the global cooldown is complete. Raw ability buttons are not affected by this restriction because there is an action queue of max size 1, to which you can push new actions up to 0.5s before the action would actually be available. So during the last 0.5s of the GCD, you can press the button for another GCD action to queue it, and it will execute immediately upon completion of the global cooldown. These points are also intentional, and as Legion has tried to explain, it is to prevent automating optimal play.

    So again, nothing is broken, and there is nothing to fix, gamewise.
    (1)
    Last edited by Rongway; 07-06-2017 at 10:27 AM.
    Error 3102 Club, Order of the 52nd Hour

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread