Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: PLD Macro help

  1. #1
    Player
    dragonseth07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Manhattan Beach
    Posts
    922
    Character
    Ratithgar Jovasch
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Paladin Lv 90

    PLD Macro help

    Hello! I'm well past the limit of how many buttons I have the dexterity to press on my keyboard, so I've started some macro work. I was hoping somebody could help me out.

    /ac "Shield Bash"
    /ac "Shield Lob"
    /ac "Cover"

    So, I was trying to figure out how to do macro conditions like I'm used to in WoW, but no dice. So, this is the closest I could come up with. Since it goes line by line, Bash has priority over Lob. So, if my target is in melee, I will bash. If not, I will Lob. If my target is friendly, neither will fire and I will use Cover. I've tested it in a few runs, and it seems to work perfectly. Is there a way to cram more out of this?

    /ac "Fight or Flight"
    /ac "Bloodbath"

    I tried forever to get these to pop together, to find that I can't animation cancel, so no dice again. I originally tried a wait command, but that didn't work out. The best solution I've found so far has been this, and mashing the button to get both off. It's not elegant. Is there a better way?
    (0)

  2. #2
    Player
    Launched's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    626
    Character
    Rys Sol
    World
    Omega
    Main Class
    Warrior Lv 90
    Get rid of your macros, they work horribly in this game.
    (6)

  3. #3
    Player
    Jpec07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    868
    Character
    Matthias Gendrin
    World
    Cactuar
    Main Class
    Paladin Lv 80
    Unfortunately you can't make actions work together. Every action has an animation lock, and only very few oGCD actions can break the animations of GCD actions.

    For the Bloodbath one, you'll need to add a wait call in there:

    /ac "Fight or Flight" <wait>
    /ac Bloodbath

    That way you can either hit it once and let it do both CDs, or you can spam it until both actions fire. But keep in mind: any action or macro you fire while this is running will exit the macro.

    I don't believe they've added logical statements to the macro language, unfortunately, so what you have there is probably the best bet. You can specify the target of your ability with relation to yourself, your current target, or your focus target, but that can get tricky.

    Quote Originally Posted by Launched View Post
    Get rid of your macros, they work horribly in this game.
    NO U

    Besides, it's a bit rude to tell someone not to use something when they're asking how to use it.
    (0)
    Last edited by Jpec07; 11-11-2016 at 04:02 AM.
    __________________________
    A dungeon party with two summoners always makes me egi.

    Beginner's Overview to Tanking in FFXIV: http://forum.square-enix.com/ffxiv/threads/352455
    Learn to Play (it's not what you think): http://www.l2pnoob.org/

  4. #4
    Player
    aleph_null's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    690
    Character
    Aleph Alpha
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    Warrior Lv 80
    Quote Originally Posted by Jpec07 View Post
    NO U

    Besides, it's a bit rude to tell someone not to use something when they're asking how to use it.
    To be fair it's true though, macro is bad for gcd skills, and rather clunky even for ogcd skills. It might be due to my latency (~70ms) but I don't have much luck with double weaving ogcds when one of them is on a macro.
    (2)

  5. #5
    Player
    The_NPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    495
    Character
    Ritza Solair
    World
    Behemoth
    Main Class
    Machinist Lv 79
    Macro'ing some moves for space or funcional use is a shound idea just don't go making 1 for an actual combo (like fast blade-savage-RoH)

    My PLD macro's are for 2 def cd's, 1 attack buff, 1 AoE arrgo & 1 Ranged arrgo recover (only 2 of with use the /wait 1 inbetween, thats the arrgo recover & AoE arrgo) these 5 are:

    Convelence/Foresight (2nd press used to activare Forsight)
    Bulwark/Awaerness (2nd press for Awaerness)
    Fight or Flight/Bloodbath (2nd press for Bloodbath)
    Provoke/Shield lob (uses wait macro to auto-use 2nd)
    Circle of Scorn/Flash (uses wait marco to auto-use 2nd)

    I find "not" using the wait macro for atk/def buff moves more useful as I can eather faster use or not use the 2nd & the pairing of each buff macro is based on their repective recast timers thou awaerness does have a slightly short recast timer than Bulwark. the 2 /wait users are for ease of use in a pinch (u gota use arrgo move after Provoke anyway & u can't predict the distance all the time, plus I use a controller so I put Shield lob & cut the marco I found to make it down my 1 skill) & yes I still have flash on my hotbar anyway I just macro'd 1 to Scorn for ease when AoE arrgoing in my early tank days & never saw a need to remove it.
    (0)
    Last edited by The_NPC; 11-11-2016 at 05:19 AM.

  6. #6
    Player
    Rongway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,141
    Character
    Cyrillo Rongway
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Black Mage Lv 100
    Waits are a very bad idea for several reasons. Ignoring the obvious arguments of macros at all interfering with the action queue, there are no guarantees that an action sequence macro will perform all of its actions. This means far more than 0.1s lost if your sequential actions don't fire.

    The above two macros combining Provoke with Shield Lob and Circle of Scorn with Flash could just as easily remove the wait and require two button presses, since the first action in each case is an oGCD ability.

    For the OP's macro combining Fight or Flight with Bloodbath, the same is applies. Don't use waits. Just hit the button twice.
    (1)
    Error 3102 Club, Order of the 52nd Hour

  7. #7
    Player
    Warkupo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    90
    Character
    Akos Talon
    World
    Mateus
    Main Class
    Paladin Lv 90
    You shouldn't use macros for global cooldown (GCD) abilities since a macro cannot be queue'd, which means that you will be significantly slower at executing actions.

    Macros are fine for non-gcd cooldown actions like Sentinel, Bloodbath, or Fight or Fight though since those actions are optimally preformed BETWEEN GCDs.
    (0)

  8. #8
    Player
    repoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ul'Dah
    Posts
    316
    Character
    Repoe Zessed
    World
    Diabolos
    Main Class
    Marauder Lv 60
    I'm assuming your not using any shift or ctrl modifers or rebinding?
    I use 1 thru =[6 thru = are abilities least used] , shift + 1 thru 6, ctrl 1 thru 6
    QERT, shift+ERT. V, B for Stances since I play mainly WAR but also pld n NIn
    (0)

  9. #9
    Player
    dragonseth07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Manhattan Beach
    Posts
    922
    Character
    Ratithgar Jovasch
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Paladin Lv 90
    Quote Originally Posted by repoe View Post
    I'm assuming your not using any shift or ctrl modifers or rebinding?
    I use 1 thru =[6 thru = are abilities least used] , shift + 1 thru 6, ctrl 1 thru 6
    QERT, shift+ERT. V, B for Stances since I play mainly WAR but also pld n NIn
    I definitely am using both Shift and Ctrl as modifiers. The issue is that I simply don't have the dexterity to reliably hit many buttons on the keyboard. Realistically, any number past 4 when I'm hovering WASD only has a chance of being the right button, and 7+ is impossible. I've struggled with limited button accessibility through many MMO's before this one. :P
    (0)

  10. #10
    Player
    Valenth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Ul'dah
    Posts
    296
    Character
    Valenth Guiran
    World
    Lich
    Main Class
    Samurai Lv 80
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonseth07 View Post
    I definitely am using both Shift and Ctrl as modifiers. The issue is that I simply don't have the dexterity to reliably hit many buttons on the keyboard. Realistically, any number past 4 when I'm hovering WASD only has a chance of being the right button, and 7+ is impossible. I've struggled with limited button accessibility through many MMO's before this one. :P
    You may want to try slotting some skills to the buttons around WASD then. QERFVCXZ for example. If you use a shift/ctrl/alt modifier for those, together with what you have, you should have enough buttons for all your skills. I can greatly recommend giving Taugrim's keybinding guide a read, should help a lot (and no need for fancy mouse/keyboards): https://taugrim.com/2011/04/07/guide...d-keybindings/
    (2)
    "The world is such a funnier place upside down! ^_^"

    Proud leader of the Word of Love Free Company: http://www.wordoflove.enjin.com/

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast