Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Player
    Zaj_Quilos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    130
    Character
    Zaj Quilos
    World
    Odin
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 60

    Double Astros - Watch your buffs!

    Lately I end up running with more and more Astro's as an Astro and nothing is more depressing than them doing an expanded spire / spear / bole etc straight after i have done expanded balance. If you are running with another Astro have some awareness what buffs are on the party! especially at the start of a pull keep an eye on their royal road and spread card!
    (8)

  2. #2
    Player
    Nekotee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Uldah
    Posts
    1,574
    Character
    Akihiko Hoshie
    World
    Moogle
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 100
    And card overwriting is like one of the first things you experience as a beginner AST...
    So it's weird to see some AST still breaking your card...
    But overwriting a spread balance by a spread arrow when there is 3sec ledt is ok XD
    (0)

  3. #3
    Player
    Zaj_Quilos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    130
    Character
    Zaj Quilos
    World
    Odin
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 60
    Quote Originally Posted by Nekotee View Post
    And card overwriting is like one of the first things you experience as a beginner AST...
    So it's weird to see some AST still breaking your card...
    But overwriting a spread balance by a spread arrow when there is 3sec ledt is ok XD
    oh yeah for sure that's what i mean pay attention and make a judgement.
    (0)

  4. #4
    Player
    Miyha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    The Azim Steppe
    Posts
    290
    Character
    Miyha Manaya
    World
    Behemoth
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 70
    Thanks for being nice about it.

    Really. When I was a baby AST (like first or second day playing it), some asshat was being... an asshat to me because I didn't know cards could be overwritten and Diurnal regens didn't stack. "It's ok, since other AST doesn't seem to realize you can't have two in the same sect." "Great, AND you just overwrote my AoE Arrow with AoE Spear!"

    Mind you this was in the Praetorium. And I had literally just hit level 50.

    If it was Alex NM or something, then the irritation might be understandable. .___. But yeah. Would love to meet that AST again because now I probably blow his ass out of the water at his own job. <3 (Not to toot my own horn...)

    Anywho. Point is I'm glad some people are nice about this at least.
    (1)


    "・・・イイ!"
    Let's be friends! Use my recruitment code to get cool stuff: R24ZGHF4

  5. #5
    Player
    technole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    1,970
    Character
    Thea Sitori
    World
    Gilgamesh
    Main Class
    Scholar Lv 72
    Overwriting is the least of the worries in my experience.

    A baby AST to me is the one when they enter the instance and spread their Ewer card. You know where this is going.

    That card sits spread for 75% of the instance. Any card drawn from this point and used is bare, and while you as the Black Mage cry inside for some arrow action to pump some more spell speed blood in your soul to unleash the burn on the boss, they just stand there with their cute 0 DPS.

    Eventually they use they use Ewer on themselves, or maybe not. But don't worry another Ewer will get held..for themselves.
    (1)

  6. #6
    Player
    Saseal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1,110
    Character
    Saseal Korei
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 70
    Quote Originally Posted by technole View Post
    A baby AST to me is the one when they enter the instance and spread their Ewer card. You know where this is going.
    Eh, I do this when I know I'm going to be healing heavily or experienced heavy mp issues in a particular trial (just.... never in dungeons...), new people learning/mistakes or realizing I'm in a derp party. :/
    I'd spread Ewer, RR another card, Draw a third, place it on whomever based on the who/what/card and save the ewer for that emergency (then rinse and repeat until the ewer is needed). I usually tend to need it badly by add phase in SephEX or add phase in Niddhog (usually from new people deaths, just prior).
    (1)

  7. #7
    Player
    Cherub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Floating City of Nym
    Posts
    392
    Character
    Miasma Eschaton
    World
    Ragnarok
    Main Class
    Thaumaturge Lv 90
    Diurnal aspected benefic doesn't stack? I didn't know that. I was convinced they do.
    (0)

  8. #8
    Player
    Nekotee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Uldah
    Posts
    1,574
    Character
    Akihiko Hoshie
    World
    Moogle
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 100
    Quote Originally Posted by Cherub View Post
    Diurnal aspected benefic doesn't stack? I didn't know that. I was convinced they do.
    They don't it's the BIGGEST trap ever that whm are happy to avoid
    They can stack medica II while any AST aspected cannot stack and any kind of shield from noct/sch will be overwrite

    But medica II and aspected helios work together and regen and aspected benefic too

    That's a wish of mine... to give the AST the same thing that whm have.... stacking regen
    (1)

  9. #9
    Player
    Alistaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2,980
    Character
    Your Character
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Blue Mage Lv 60
    Quote Originally Posted by Cherub View Post
    Diurnal aspected benefic doesn't stack? I didn't know that. I was convinced they do.
    If they did nobody would ever have a reason to go nocturnal sect outside of fights with prey mechanics.
    (0)

  10. #10
    Player
    DarkmoonVael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,014
    Character
    Darkmoon Vael
    World
    Cerberus
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 60
    I also think you should expand this to Sects as well. The amount of time i have got a AST co-healer in DF who hasnt a sect on, doesnt respond to my question in /p of what sect they want, so i switch on Diurnal, we engage fight, 10secs later other AST swiches on the same sect i have on........

    AST has been deliberately designed to not function alongside another AST, so buffs dont stack but overwrite, as do Aspect spells from the same sect.

    EDIT: just thought of another thing most new AST should also bare in mind, you can not change Sects in combat, but if you have engaged without one on, you can switch one on at any time.
    (0)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast