Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Character
    Asran
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    COR Lv 99

How long do we have left?

I've been playing FFXI on and off for the last 7 years. I love the game but lets face it... nothing lasts forever. I've come back to it after an 8 month hiatus but it makes me wonder how much time do we have left? It seems like there are fewer and fewer players every time I come back... and we're bout to hit the 99 (100) level cap, have had two server mergers in 1 year and are approaching the 10th anniversary do you think they will keep us up long after that?

I'm not trying to sound negative, I still love this game, I am just worried if I should stay in or not. Also if it is worth bringing a friend in.
    (0)

Character
    Tahngarthor
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    SMN Lv 99
    We have until there are not enough subscribers to offset the costs of running the servers + ~6 months to a year after that.
    (0)

As I figure it, as a low estimate, Final Fantasy XI must have at least 75k players left, potentially many many more. At current figures that still puts FFXI at 60k more subscribers than the currently making zero profit FFXIV. FFXI is more or less SE's life blood after the horrendous profit losses they took this last fiscal year. I honestly doubt we'll see the end of the game any time even remotely soon.
    (0)

10 years ago Squaresoft was great. 10 years ago Hironobu Sakaguchi left Squaresoft. 10 years ago Square's profits were at an all time high. In the last 10 years their profits have done nothing but decline. Coincidence, I think not. Do yourself and the fans a favor SE, bring back Sakaguchi. Bring back the awesome you once had.

Character
    Asran
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    COR Lv 99