Character
    Jkap
    World
    Asura
    Main Class
    DNC Lv 99

So is Mastery Rank meta?

Hello, ive been playing FFXI for two years now coming from XIV and i love FFXI, theres so much to do and its a fun game..

But now that Mastery Rank is in and people can increase their subjob levels, they can do more things than 49 subjob so SE, will Mastery Rank be meta? I feel like noone would want newer players or a person ( like me) who isn't even close to mastery on DNC, not close on WHM either

So whats going to happen to newer players or players who dont have mastery? Maybe its just me and im being self conscious
    (1)

Character
    Tahngarthor
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    SMN Lv 99
    Quote Originally Posted by JKap_Goat View Post
    Hello, ive been playing FFXI for two years now coming from XIV and i love FFXI, theres so much to do and its a fun game..

But now that Mastery Rank is in and people can increase their subjob levels, they can do more things than 49 subjob so SE, will Mastery Rank be meta? I feel like noone would want newer players or a person ( like me) who isn't even close to mastery on DNC, not close on WHM either

So whats going to happen to newer players or players who dont have mastery? Maybe its just me and im being self conscious
    I think there might be a bit of confusion here. Mastery Rank has nothing to do with attaining Master status on a job. Well, okay, it's part of it, but it's not what the term refers to.

Master rank is a number that is meant to reflect one's overall experience with the game to new players/novices in the Assist Channel to lend some credence to the knowledge they share etc. it isn't a gameplay mechanic, so it can't be "meta." I think you're actually referring to reaching the maximum job point gift tier which confers the "Master <job>" designation.