Hybrid View

Character
    Jangamaky
    World
    Fenrir
    Main Class
    THF Lv 99

beginner monster rearing question (evolution)

I'm new to Mog Gardens and monster rearing. I've read the two main wikis on the topic, but I'm running into a problem that's also stumped my LS, and it regards evolution.

About 2 weeks ago, I gained access to monster rearing and quickly completed the first 3 quests (up to Cry Not, Caretaker). Every single day I have pet my lamb and fed it Boyahda Moss (overkill, I know). For the last few days it's been "beaming with pure contentment."

The parenting style is set to "Enjoying the Moment" and the lamb is currently at ★☆ and it has been for about a week. I also named it. Despite all of this, every time I feed it Boyahda Moss, it acts like it does when if it were to eat any other type of greens. (Sorry, I'm not in front of the game, so I can't remember the exact message.)

It's been like this for a week. I thought it might that my monster rearing was somehow limited since I was only rank 1, but I finished "Sakura and the Magic Spoon" for rank 2 last night and today it's no different.

What am I doing wrong? Why is it not evolving?

I've also started monster rearing on two of my mules, and after a week of identical treatment starting on the same day, one is at ☆☆ and "beaming with pure contentment" (and has been for 3 days) and the other is at ☆☆ and one step lower on the contentment ladder and can't seem to improve.
    (0)

Player
    You should leave them on "personal growth" they will grow/evolve faster, the only reason to put them on "enjoy the moment" is if they grew too fast and you might miss a memento.

I've never heard of this, but with the way they occasionally screw up random things with updates, "enjoy the moment" may be blocking your evolution. Change them back to "personal growth" and try.