Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Player Mike_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3
    Character
    Knightcomm
    World
    Siren
    Main Class
    BLU Lv 99

    FFXi.dll reporting as virus

    Since the most recent update, Symantec antivirus has started reporting FFXi.dll, in my 'C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XI' folder, as a Trojan.Gen.SMH.2 virus. I deleted the file, and began to fix my installation. While getting a new FFXi.dll, Symantec reported that FFXi.dll.tmp2 was also a virus. I undid the action, but why would my antivirus be reporting that it contains properties that of a trojan virus? I have tried another computer, to make sure this one was not infected but I got the same result. Thanks!
    (1)

  2. #2
    Player Malthar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    674
    Character
    Malthar
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    BST Lv 99
    It's a false positive. You have to write Symantec for them to exclude the .dll.
    (0)

  3. #3
    Player Draylo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    778
    My Symantec was doing this too.
    (0)

  4. #4
    Player Malthar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    674
    Character
    Malthar
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    BST Lv 99
    Mine did it a long time ago. Yo have to turn off symantec if you want to play.
    And no I wasn't hacking you, Dray. Or maybe I was... lol
    (0)

  5. #5
    Player Byrth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,172
    Character
    Byrth
    World
    Lakshmi
    Main Class
    DNC Lv 99
    Somewhat depressing, but this typically happens when a very low number of Symantec users have the same form of the dll installed.
    (0)

  6. #6
    Player Raydeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    MogVault 101
    Posts
    603
    Can you whitelist it? Most Antivirus allow you to add programs as exceptions while they fix the issue.
    (0)
    'Don't ever, ever try to lie to the internet. Because they will catch you. They will de-construct your spin. They will remember everything you ever say for eternity.'
    - Lord Gaben

  7. #7
    Player Malthar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    674
    Character
    Malthar
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    BST Lv 99
    Symantec has no whitelist. x.x
    (0)

  8. #8
    Player Draylo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    778
    Nope you can't add anything to a whitelist for it... So I just had to disable it, don't hack me Malthar.
    (0)

  9. #9
    Player BobbinT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Gridania XD
    Posts
    121
    Character
    Bobbinthrdbare
    World
    Bahamut
    Main Class
    BST Lv 99
    Apparently my game runs fine despite SAV keep popping about the trojan.
    (0)

  10. #10
    Player Draylo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    778
    If your anti-virus is like mine, the game will run until you shutdown. That's when it takes effect when it deletes the file.
    (0)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast