Quote Originally Posted by Hashmalum
When you lose connection, it's treated as an error. When the game aborts due to an error, changes to macros and map markers are not saved. This has caused me annoyance dozens of times over the years. Please fix it.
Workaround: Changing macro sets forces a save of the one you were on; the game saves the initial palette's macros to a file in your user directory, then loads the new one. Change the active set after you make adjustments to your macros (just arrow up and then back down) and you don't have to worry about losing them in a crash.