Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Dev. Posts

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Player
    xSinful_Snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    129
    Character
    Syndal Striker
    World
    Exodus
    Main Class
    Lancer Lv 60

    Dear Devs: Macro Command - Wait

    I'm becoming quite familiar with macros as a suitable way to craft as even use in battle however with a 15 command line limitation, I'm wondering why the command "/wait" requires its own line and why it int utilized as "<wait #>" and would be added to the end of a command line.

    This is taking up precious command line space so can you please change it?
    (4)

  2. #2
    Player
    Abadacchus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Character
    Adrahm Hausen
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 47
    I definitely agree, with "/wait" requiring its own line there is a huge limitation on what you can do with macros. When I first saw how big the input box was I was so excited at the long strings of commands I thought I would be able to input. Nope, 15 lines max, and half of those are going to be used with "/wait". What a waste of potential that the <wait#> format could alleviate!
    (1)

  3. #3
    Player
    xSinful_Snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    129
    Character
    Syndal Striker
    World
    Exodus
    Main Class
    Lancer Lv 60
    I'm glad I'm not the only one who realizes the potential of the macro function. Aside from the "/wait #", I don't really see any other problems with the commands. Fix this ONE issue Devs and you'll have happy players with 15 fun lines of command.

    Though if you can't add the command "<wait #>", at least consider giving us an additional 7-8 lines of commands to make up for the /wait lines or nullify /wait from counting towards the 15 line-limitation counter.
    (1)

  4. #4
    Player
    Laraul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    891
    Character
    Laraul Lunacy
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 60
    Quote Originally Posted by Abadacchus View Post
    I definitely agree, with "/wait" requiring its own line there is a huge limitation on what you can do with macros. When I first saw how big the input box was I was so excited at the long strings of commands I thought I would be able to input. Nope, 15 lines max, and half of those are going to be used with "/wait". What a waste of potential that the <wait#> format could alleviate!
    You forget that a macro is limited to 180 characters also (including new line characters). That's an average of 12 characters per line if you use all 15 lines. So forget about having 15 lines of long strings of text. Honestly though, I doubt anyone could find use for all 15 lines.
    (0)
    Last edited by Laraul; 01-28-2014 at 01:31 PM.

  5. #5
    Player
    xSinful_Snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    129
    Character
    Syndal Striker
    World
    Exodus
    Main Class
    Lancer Lv 60
    Devs, this is crucial to the future of macros in this game, a function built in to the game, can we atleast get some support here?
    (1)

  6. #6
    Player
    Feilina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    573
    Character
    Felgo Donnerherz
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    Alchemist Lv 50
    Having Makros for some quality of life features is absolutly ok. Things like buffing makros or so. But what i don't get is the need to automize nearly everything, at least it sounds so for me.
    Have you two a higher target in automizing your game with makros?

    Don't misunderstand me, i just want to know it. You can do what you want wth makro as long as it is in line with intended behaviour.
    (0)
    I like Random-Number-Generator
    'cause I'm able to accept that
    a dice normally has six sides
    a pyramid has 5 sides
    a toast has 2 sides
    AND I CAN'T PREDICT WHICH SIDES IT FALLS TO.

  7. #7
    Player
    Abadacchus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Character
    Adrahm Hausen
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 47
    Quote Originally Posted by Feilina View Post
    Having Makros for some quality of life features is absolutly ok. Things like buffing makros or so. But what i don't get is the need to automize nearly everything, at least it sounds so for me.
    Have you two a higher target in automizing your game with makros?

    Don't misunderstand me, i just want to know it. You can do what you want wth makro as long as it is in line with intended behaviour.
    I think what Sinful_Snake is getting at is streamlining. On my way to 50 Weaver, there were a number of times it would have been more convenient to have a single macro rather than two performing the same synthesis hundreds of times over. Granted, pressing two buttons as opposed to one isn't the end of the world, but I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest a function that worked well in FFXI to be implemented here. /wait takes up a line that could be used for more complex and productive macros, making everyone who uses macros for legitimate purposes happier.
    (1)

  8. #8
    Player Killabye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    la noscea
    Posts
    158
    Character
    Killabye Strife
    World
    Exodus
    Main Class
    Armorer Lv 50
    Some of us are old and cant handle all this shit! I macro so I have time, usually I basic combo macro and free buff in between but my oldest macro set ive never changed and it's my buff AT&T with my drg which is like 15 seconds long. While the macro is going though it leaves me to dodge attacks and not have to push those buttons. Slows me overall but makes the harder fights survivable
    (0)

  9. #9
    Player
    Tirocupidus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    56
    Character
    Gerulf Cloudwrath
    World
    Lamia
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 50
    Seems fine to me. If you want the game to play more of the game for you, just make a continuation macro to do what you didn't finish in the first one.
    (0)

  10. #10
    Player
    Lhun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    103
    Character
    Samuel Bellamy
    World
    Aegis
    Main Class
    Marauder Lv 11
    Quote Originally Posted by Tirocupidus View Post
    Seems fine to me. If you want the game to play more of the game for you, just make a continuation macro to do what you didn't finish in the first one.
    This. You can have macros call and activate other hotbar buttons, near infinitely, probably more then you'll ever need. The basic user will never need what you're asking for, and for users like you, I highly recommend a Corsair K90 series keyboard, or a Logitech G series keyboard, or something else with dedicated hardware macros.
    (0)
    (真緑, 大輝)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread