Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Player
    DoctorPepper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Limsa Lominza
    Posts
    275
    Character
    Doctor Pepper
    World
    Cactuar
    Main Class
    ARCANIST Lv 50

    Focus Target with a controller?

    I tried searching and asking in game but couldn't find anything about it. I was wondering if it's possible to set a focus target while using a controller on PC?

    When controller is enabled Shift+F doesn't seem to work, it simply puts an F into the chat box. My workaround so far has been to target the boss before a fight, switch to keyboard and press shift+f to set the boss as a focus target, then switch back to controller.

    Anyways, does anybody know if there is just a different way to set a focus target while using a controller or if it just doesn't work as expected? Also, if anybody is unsure, I am Not talking about locking onto a target, focus target brings up a mini hp/cast bar by the mini map so you can see when the monster is casting as a healer with a tank or pt member as your locked target.
    (2)

  2. #2
    Player
    KikInperi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Limsa Lominsa
    Posts
    111
    Character
    Kik Inperi
    World
    Excalibur
    Main Class
    ARCANIST Lv 50
    If your keyboard works, I believe you can just type "/focustarget" and hit enter. I know it's not exactly what you were looking for, but as a workaround you could macro that and set it to one of your hotbars in the meantime.

    Edit: also, I think "/target <f>" will target it
    (1)

  3. #3
    Player
    Seirra_Lanzce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    2,892
    Character
    L'anzce Seirra
    World
    Masamune
    Main Class
    GLADIATOR Lv 50
    I've made a macro just for that /focustarget

  4. #4
    Player
    Namko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    188
    Character
    Star Breeze
    World
    Ragnarok
    Main Class
    GLADIATOR Lv 50
    Quote Originally Posted by KikInperi View Post
    If your keyboard works, I believe you can just type "/focustarget" and hit enter. I know it's not exactly what you were looking for, but as a workaround you could macro that and set it to one of your hotbars in the meantime.

    Edit: also, I think "/target <f>" will target it
    Thanks, this has been plaguing me for a while. I'll make a macro for it.
    (1)

  5. #5
    Player
    Felis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    4,940
    Character
    Y'sonjha Jirhisa
    World
    Ragnarok
    Main Class
    PUGILIST Lv 50
    /focustarget <t> - to set the target as Focus Target
    /target <focus> - to target the Focus Target

    Don't work with PS3 (PC only)
    (0)

  6. #6
    Player
    Wiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    118
    Character
    Xyos Soma
    World
    Diabolos
    Main Class
    GLADIATOR Lv 50
    I dont use a controller but perhaps in the controller binding settings you could set it up? I re-bound mine to Q on the keyboard perhaps you could re-bind it on the controller?
    (0)

  7. #7
    Player
    KikInperi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Limsa Lominsa
    Posts
    111
    Character
    Kik Inperi
    World
    Excalibur
    Main Class
    ARCANIST Lv 50
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiggles View Post
    I dont use a controller but perhaps in the controller binding settings you could set it up? I re-bound mine to Q on the keyboard perhaps you could re-bind it on the controller?
    Actually, the way it works when you're using a controller is that it only gives you 1-4 options per button of what you want to assign to it. It doesn't have the freedom to bind anything like the keyboard's keybind option does >.<
    (0)

  8. #8
    Player
    Pugmalion1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    56
    Character
    Montucky Coldsnack
    World
    Cactuar
    Main Class
    ARCHER Lv 38
    On the PS3, you can focus on a specific target by selecting the target and then pressing R3. Not sure if that will work on a PC while using a PS3 controller.
    (0)

  9. #9
    Player Trife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    99
    Character
    Trife Darkheart
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    THAUMATURGE Lv 50
    There is a way to focus target with a controller. I noticed I was doing this on accident last night. This was on PC, but with a PS3 controller scheme. I wish I could be more help, but I know it's built in there somewhere.

    A macro isn't required.
    (0)
    Last edited by Trife; 09-17-2013 at 02:02 AM.

  10. #10
    Player
    Z3M0G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    85
    Character
    Tarek Darichian
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    GLADIATOR Lv 50
    What is focus? Camera lock?

    If so, just press L3 (click down left stick) I believe while you have a mob targetted. (May be R stick, but I'm pretty sure it is L.)

    Or are we talking about something else?
    (3)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast