Page 1 of 53 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 528
  1. #1
    Player
    BlueWolf39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9
    Character
    Arnos Clayworth
    World
    Ultros
    Main Class
    Fisher Lv 21

    Freeze/Crash & BSOD issues

    Issues:
    I will consistently get freezes/lockups during gameplay.
    Background and Information:

    The first issue is a consistent lock-up/freeze when playing the game. This often happens while moving but it has also often occurred while standing still (crafting or fishing for example). The game will lock-up, I can hear music in the background but nothing is responsive. This almost always results in the game crashing or seamlessly moving me into a BSOD. This usally occurs after about an hour or so of gameplay.

    It is worth noting that I have checked the Windows Event Viewer for the application error thrown when FFXIV freezes/crashes and it is consistently the same error with the correct time stamp for when the issue occured. The error is:

    Faulting application name: ffxiv.exe, version: 1.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5215cce1
    Faulting module name: ffxiv.exe, version: 1.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5215cce1
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x007cd875
    Faulting process id: 0x2238
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cea1252b339068
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XIV - A Realm Reborn\game\ffxiv.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XIV - A Realm Reborn\game\ffxiv.exe

    2. Second issue is while playing the game will at random times immediately go into a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD). having the dump files, one blue screen error reads:

    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000007e (0xffffffffc0000005, 0xfffff80002e821d3, 0xfffff88003377878, 0xfffff880033770d0). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 082413-9126-01.
    Both of these issues were present for me during open beta. When installing the game for early access I uninstalled everything from the Open beta and re-installed to the early access client. After some troubleshooting I thought I had gotten rid of the BSOD but it appeared once more last night, along with several Freeze/crashes.

    The troubleshooting I have done so far:
    1. I have re-installed the latest release and latest BETA drievrs for my graphics card (GTX 670). I am currently running BETA driver 326.80.

    2. I am using an ASUS Z87-PRO motherboard coupled with an Intel 4770K CPU. I have updated to the latest ASUS BIOS (1205) and any other relevant drivers on the support page for the motherboard.

    3. I have tried uninstalling certain windows updates that had apparently been known to cause issues with some games (KB 2859537) however I have re-installed all recent windows updates as uninstalling them didn't seem to resolve the issue. (see: http://www.infoworld.com/t/microsoft...-update-224988)

    4. Ran "SFC /scannnow" and Windows Memory Diagnostic and no errors were found.

    5. Reset BIOS to factory defaults and have under-clocked the RAM (rated at 1600 running at 1333).

    6. Tried installing various Windows Hot Fixes for various issues that were popping up in the system Event Viewer. While I have corrected errors being recorded in Event Viewer none of them seems to have resolved my issues with the game.

    7. Unplugged all USB devices except for those I need for input. Currently the only USB devices I am using are my mouse, keyboard, and the XBOX PC controller wireless adapter (I am playing the game with a wireless XBOX 360 controller).

    8. Uninstalled ASUS AI Suite software. It did not cause me troubles in any other game I play however I am a bit desperate for things to try at this point, so I uninstalled it.

    9. Checked thermal sensors for CPU and GPU during gameplay, and niether get hot enough to warrant concerns (the CPU stays below 60 celsius and the GPU below 80 celsius) and all fans are set to run at full speed regardless of system load (the CPU is water-cooled using a closed-loop Antec Kuhler system).
    It's worth noting that I do not have any troubles with other games and ran a graphically intensive benchmark program without issue (Uniengine Valley benchmark 1.0).

    I copied the MEMORY.DMP file created for the most recent BSOD as well as the event viewer message for the freeze/crash (pasted above). I can also get Dxdiag information if need be. Since this is probably too long as it is, I will post a summary of my machine:

    Machine:
    Motherboard: ASUS Z87-PRO
    CPU: INTEL 4770K @ 3.5gHz
    Memory: 16GB of G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    Video: NVIDIA GTX 670 4GB
    USB Devices: Keyboard, Mouse, XBOX Wireless Controller.
    Monitors: Three monitors installed with the primary (middle) used to display/play the game.
    (10)

  2. #2
    Player
    jerethdagryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    15
    Character
    Ary'lyn'nas Redwillow
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Archer Lv 14
    welcome to my world im with amd and having almost identical problems
    (1)

  3. #3
    Player
    BlueWolf39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9
    Character
    Arnos Clayworth
    World
    Ultros
    Main Class
    Fisher Lv 21
    Sorry to hear about the trouble you're having but glad I'm not alone. Are you getting BSODs too or just crash/freeze? It's interesting that you mention being on AMD as I was getting sick of issues with NVIDIA and was thinking about picking up an AMD/ATi card instead but I guess both sides have their problems.

    Unfortunately I don't know if we're going to get help with this with everyone burying everything with complaints about the server status.
    (2)

  4. #4
    Player
    Blazza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    51
    Character
    Blazza Blu
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Conjurer Lv 50
    I'm same as OP, almost identical system, the only way out of the crash is to hard reset my system. The crashes are becoming more and more common, and has happened 3 times in the last half hour, once while I was still on the character select screen.
    (2)

  5. #5
    Player
    Blazza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    51
    Character
    Blazza Blu
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Conjurer Lv 50
    Can't wait for a fix on this, two dungeons tonight, two disconnects in each one and then get greeted with 3102 error when I try and reconnect

    Edit: 3102 just turned into 1017... Guess I'm done with dungeons until this is fixed :/
    (0)
    Last edited by Blazza; 08-28-2013 at 01:31 AM.

  6. #6
    Player
    xXHalloweenTrixXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    238
    Character
    Fei Fenris
    World
    Gilgamesh
    Main Class
    Archer Lv 50
    The 326.80 beta driver has been causing people BSOD in several other games from my own experience and from other players on the NVIDIA forums. You should probably go to 320.49 or the 314.22 drivers, as these are considered somewhat "stable" and see if it makes any difference.
    (1)
    Are you an internet e-thug?

    I laugh cause you fake. CX

  7. #7
    Player
    mythicrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    480
    Character
    Mythic Rose
    World
    Cactuar
    Main Class
    Lancer Lv 50
    I have the same issues, OP but using AMD graphic cards, similar RAM, and an older generation i7 920 CPU. I've also done the same troubleshooting you have with zero issues resolved. The crashes (either blue screen or actual freeze) are completely random. Some happen within moments of logging in the game (or even just having the log on application up) or hours later. Drivers are all updated, CPU and GPU are well within their operating temperatures, nothing is overclocked, diagnostic check /scannow had no errors, etc.

    It's vexing but not much else I can think of to do but "deal with it".
    (0)
    Error 3102 Survivor

  8. #8
    Player
    animapain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    134
    Character
    Yunaa Lesca
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    Arcanist Lv 30
    I wish my PC would give me a BSOD, atleast then I'd know just what the fluff is going wrong. I can play great for 8 hours without issue, then on another day I play for 10 minutes and my PC would shut off. I suspected a PSU problem but the part that really confuses me is that it's only happened on FF. Can play crysis,GTA 4, NFS run, WoW ( dual boxing ) and not a single stutter. All temps are very low, 40c on my phenom ii 850, 58 on my gpu,very normal temps, it helps that I have great cooling on my rig.

    If someone could shed light on my problem I welcome it with open arms. On a side note, I took my PC apart yesterday and inspected it with a magnifying glass to check for bad capacitors and motherboard crack/wear, I even opened up my PSU ( warranty void -.- ) not a single sign of burns,wear or bubbles,nothing! I'm truly STUMPED
    (1)

  9. #9
    Player
    BlueWolf39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9
    Character
    Arnos Clayworth
    World
    Ultros
    Main Class
    Fisher Lv 21
    I cannot do it just this second but I plan on posting a reply to this thread with links to other threads with seemingly the same problem. It seems though that the number of people afflicted with this issue is not insignificant, which is nice to know (misery loves company after all). I have tried various other things, installing this and uninstalling that, to no avail. I have considered tinkering with my motherboard settings however I believe this shouldn't be necessary; the system should work and be stable using the defaults settings. Playing the game in a window rather than full screen has also not helped at all.

    That aside, no matter which NVIDIA driver I use, be it release, older, newer or BETA, the issue simply will not go away. It's interesting to hear some AMD folks chiming in with similar issue which makes me further suspect a software issue with the game rather than a hardware/software driver issue with each system (although these can't be ruled out or suspected any less since these issues are typically environmental). Either way, I hope this server scare dies down soon so tech support can focus more on helping those with issues like these.

    In the mean time I will continue trying to troubleshoot, however I am fresh out of ideas. If anyone has anything else they can suggest trying I would love to hear it. I am considering buying the game for PS3 but I am loathe to spend the extra money when my system should be able to handle it (plus I would miss my 360 controller).
    (1)
    Last edited by BlueWolf39; 08-28-2013 at 04:11 AM.

  10. #10
    Player
    animapain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    134
    Character
    Yunaa Lesca
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    Arcanist Lv 30
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueWolf39 View Post
    I cannot do it just this second but I plan on posting a reply to this thread with links to other threads with seemingly the same problem. It seems though that the number of people afflicted with this issue is not insignificant, which is nice to know (misery loves company after all). I have tried various other things, installing this and uninstalling that, to no avail. I have considered tinkering with my motherboard settings however I believe this shouldn't be necessary; the system should work and be stable using the defaults settings. Playing the game in a window rather than full screen has also not helped at all.

    That aside, no matter which NVIDIA driver I use, be it release, older, newer or BETA, the issue simply will not go away. It's interesting to hear some AMD folks chiming in with similar issue which makes me further suspect a software issue with the game rather than a hardware/software driver issue with each system (although these can't be ruled out or suspected any less since these issues are typically environmental). Either way, I hope this server scare dies down soon so tech support can focus more on helping those with issues like these.

    In the mean time I will continue trying to troubleshoot, however I am fresh out of ideas. If anyone has anything else they can suggest trying I would love to hear it. I am considering buying the game for PS3 but I am loathe to spend the extra money when my system should be able to handle it (plus I would miss my 360 controller).
    Any idea on my problem? I'm scared to run the game incase it causes damage due the the random shut off.
    (1)

Page 1 of 53 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast