Player
    Character
    Enkidoh Roux
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Paladin Lv 90

Time Marches On - Measurement of Time and the Calander in Eorzea

This has had me thinking for a while now.

Now I know that it appears time in Eorzea is measured and recorded in some measurable form at least, with an hour being referred to as a 'bell', and that the year is mentioned as a number seeming to date back to an epoch (year zero) measured from the occurrence of the previous Umbral era (ala, the year of the 'present' setting of 1.0 was stated as being the year '1772' of the Sixth Umbral Era), but, beyond that, what other measurements and terms are used in Eorzea for measuring and recording time and it's passage?

I admit I'm interested in this because I have a family connection to timekeeping (my late father was a watchmaker by profession and I've always been interested in the time travel genre in science fiction and fantasy), and apart from what I've stated, I can't recall seeing any other terms in regards to time mentioned in the lore of the game.

For instance, how many days are there in the Eorzean week and what are the names of the days? In FFXI, the Vana'dielian week actually consisted of eight days, and each was named after one of the eight elements (ala, 'Firesday', 'Windsday' etc), with an actual elemental inclination of that day's namesake, so it made me curious if there is a similar 'elemental' naming system for Eorzea's days as well. And is there months of the year too and are they also named?

Considering there is regular traditional seasonal events analogous to real world events, this seems likely, but there appears to be no mention anywhere in the original game as to actual named months or what their names may be.

In any event, if anyone can shine any light on this subject I'll be most grateful. *tries to attract the ahriman loregod from his dimension* :3
    (0)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rannie View Post