Character
    Alexander Aurelius
    World
    Adamantoise
    Main Class
    Bard Lv 38

Question about stats.

Hey there,

I am new to the game, and am wondering if there are any stat caps? Soft/hard caps on main stats or off stats alike. Cannot seem to find a clear answer (or number) anywhere.

Also, why do people not meld their main stat into items? Is this due to some sort of cap?

Please help.
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Hyomin Park
    World
    Cactuar
    Main Class
    Sage Lv 90
    On each piece of gear, there are caps for each stat. Stats are divided into main stats and sub-stats.
    Main stats: Vitality (VIT), Strength (STR), Dexterity (DEX), Mind (MND), Intellegence (INT)
    Sub-stats: Critical Hit Rate (Crit), Direct Hit Rate (D.Hit), Determination (Det), Skill Speed (Sk.Sp), Spell Speed (Sp.Sp), Piety, Tenacity

HQ white gear (high quality gear with a white name) or HQ green gear (high quality gear with a green name)—HQ gear has a little icon next to it) and the majority of other gear (e.g., dungeon gear) on your left side, the main stat (VIT/STR/DEX/MND/INT) is always capped and will not allow you to meld main stats onto them.
    For right side gear (accessories), it is possible to meld VIT into HQ pieces or endgame pieces for additional health, and tanks can meld STR into their accessories. However, melding main stats into your accessories is generally not needed unless you are doing high-end content that requires it. For casual content, you do not need to meld VIT into accessories, nor is is mandatory for tanks to meld STR. So I wouldn’t concern yourself too much with this right now. ^^
    NQ (normal quality) gear also has a cap, but it allows you to meld main stat materia to make up for the fact that it isn’t HQ; NQ gear is not capped on main stats pre-melding.