Player

Alchemy leveling + gil

Hey all. I'm new to FFXIV crafting, and enjoy how it works in it's unique way. I've decided to level Alchemy as I'm leveling fishing. Currently my fishing is 30, and alchemy is only 6. What's a quick route to leveling alchemy? Will making shards/crystals via the fish I make a good way to level, throwing in leves in the mix? And how is alchemy doing at higher levels for making gil? Should I just sell the fish I get that's unused with Alchemy, or is there something I can make that will sell for profit as an alchemist?
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Raldo Volca
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    Marauder Lv 80
    Currently Alchemy is in a bit of a shambles because it's had many, many ingredients taken out of the game. Its set to be updated in patch 1.21, but until then, you may find it difficult to level during certain levels, and the ways to make money are very few.

I am not a fisher, so take this with a grain of salt, but...

1 + 2) What's a quick route to leveling alchemy? Will making shards/crystals via the fish make a good way to level, throwing leves in the mix?
    Luckily, you've stated that you are leveling fishing! Fishing is an excellent way to level alchemy by doing the shard/crystal conversions. You may need to pad out a few levels with other recipes and/or leves since the shard/crystal conversion synths are rather spread out (Lv1, 11, 21, etc), but overall it's pretty easy.

3) How is Alchemy doing at higher levels for making gil?
    Since Alchemy hasn't been updated yet, and potions are pretty crappy right now, the only real way to make money with Alchemy is to make shards. I personally don't do this (I am not a fisher) so I can't personally say how lucrative this is. We'll see how useful Alchemy is after they update the recipes.

4) Should I just sell the fish I get that's unused with Alchemy?