Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 63
  1. #1
    Player
    Vaultor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    25
    Character
    Aven Vaulton
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    White Mage Lv 70

    Add option to choose which duties are shown in duty tracker

    I have waited until post Patch 2.1 to write this.

    Initially during Beta, we were given the option to select/unselect which quests from the Journal we like displayed on the Duty Tracker. Somewhere along the way the feature got removed, the playerbase voiced disappointment, and I remembered a CM saying it's being looked into.

    Quote Originally Posted by Okipuit View Post
    Greetings, everyone!

    [*]User Interface

    Add option to choose which duties are shown in duty tracker

    Based on a large volume of feedback, this is currently being looked into. Once we receive word about official implementation we will be sure to let you all know.
    I really don't want all my crafting/gathering quests (and now daily quests) to be cluttering up my screen when I am not in the right area, especially in dungeons, that wall of text is rather distracting.

    I'm somewhat disappointed they decided it isn't important enough to make it into 2.1. I'm writing hoping they would consider it for 2.15 or at most 2.2 maybe?

    19 Dec 2013: Here's the response from Hiroshi Minagawa via Camate...

    Quote Originally Posted by Camate View Post
    Greetings,

    Below is an update from Hiroshi Minagawa in regards to the feature for selecting which quests are displayed on your Duty List.

    Originally Posted by Hiroshi_Minagawa

    As this feature involves not only the UI team, but the programmer in charge of events, I'm unable to give a specific time-frame for when this feature will return. However, it is included in the tasks for patch 2.2 and I will be sure to keep you updated.

    21 Jan 2014: And here's the latest update from Camate again! Looking great!

    Quote Originally Posted by Camate View Post
    Greetings,

    I think you'll all be happy to know that we'll soon be re-implementing the feature we had in the Beta that will allow you to use check boxes to select what is tracked on the Duty List.



    The development team is currently finalizing the functionality and performing final checks, so stay tuned!
    (50)
    Last edited by Vaultor; 01-21-2014 at 12:47 PM. Reason: Added dev response.

  2. #2
    Player
    Saithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    13
    Character
    Saithis Moonblaze
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Arcanist Lv 50
    The fact that this feature was removed in the first place is truly mind boggling.
    (52)
    Saithis Moonblaze - Balmung Server - Leader of Memoria Free Company - 50SMN/50DRG/26THM

  3. #3
    Player
    Vaultor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    25
    Character
    Aven Vaulton
    World
    Tonberry
    Main Class
    White Mage Lv 70
    Quote Originally Posted by Saithis View Post
    The fact that this feature was removed in the first place is truly mind boggling.
    Precisely. And Duty Tracker customization is pretty much a "part of the package" thing in most modern day MMOs. Giving this feature to the playerbase and then taking it away just seems extremely suspicious.

    I have a feeling this has something to do with the system limitations we have been hearing about the Sony PlayStation 3 from the devs. I mean if they need to sacrifice the EXP bar in order to display the Focus Target, it shows how TIGHT they are. Allowing Duty Tracker flexibility probably would just require us to sacrifice more things... SIGH!
    (8)

  4. #4
    Player
    Milmoko_Gemoko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Ul'Dah/Limsa Lominsa
    Posts
    374
    Character
    Milmoko Gemoko
    World
    Phoenix
    Main Class
    Marauder Lv 60
    I've been waiting for this to come back since Phase 3 testing as well!
    Seriously bring back to the Duty List toggle please
    (9)

  5. #5
    Player

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by Saithis View Post
    The fact that this feature was removed in the first place is truly mind boggling.
    That's SE for you .. it's a very small microcosm of why V1 was an abject failure: SE didn't listen to players but ploughed on with their own ideas even when no one was saying they were good ones.
    (6)

  6. #6
    Player
    Milmoko_Gemoko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Ul'Dah/Limsa Lominsa
    Posts
    374
    Character
    Milmoko Gemoko
    World
    Phoenix
    Main Class
    Marauder Lv 60
    *Bump*

    Devs can we have the toggle duty list (on/off screen) feature back please? XD
    (1)

  7. #7
    Player
    Zorzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Posts
    106
    Character
    Xania Zorzi
    World
    Cactuar
    Main Class
    Red Mage Lv 70
    Quote Originally Posted by Saithis View Post
    The fact that this feature was removed in the first place is truly mind boggling.
    I honestly want to know why. Was it bugged somehow? Was it thought to be too confusing to new players? Is it truly PS3 limitations?

    No matter what the case is, they need to bring it back. Along with some other mysteriously removed features, like requesting repairs from other players.
    (5)

  8. #8
    Player
    frostmagemari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    274
    Character
    U'tabia Aisibhirwyn
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Armorer Lv 60
    Quote Originally Posted by Zorzi View Post
    I honestly want to know why. Was it bugged somehow? Was it thought to be too confusing to new players? Is it truly PS3 limitations?

    No matter what the case is, they need to bring it back. Along with some other mysteriously removed features, like requesting repairs from other players.
    I know what you mean. Honestly, i thought it was a bug that it wasn't working during beta.. but nope, just removed.. not a reason, or cause.. just not there anymore and a lot of people clamoured to have it back, but SE just ignored it.. then we get reps telling us they might put it in and are looking into it.

    The feature was working fine in beta, just turn it back on.
    (7)

  9. #9
    Community Rep Camate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    630
    Greetings,

    Below is an update from Hiroshi Minagawa in regards to the feature for selecting which quests are displayed on your Duty List.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hiroshi_Minagawa View Post
    As this feature involves not only the UI team, but the programmer in charge of events, I'm unable to give a specific time-frame for when this feature will return. However, it is included in the tasks for patch 2.2 and I will be sure to keep you updated.
    (45)
    Devin "Camate" Casadey - Community Team

  10. #10
    Player Eekiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3,214
    Character
    Kiki Eekiki
    World
    Balmung
    Main Class
    Rogue Lv 60
    Thanks Camate, but that still doesn't answer the question as to why it was removed in the first place, since it worked just fine in beta.
    (19)

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread