Player
    Character
    Rasler Nabradia
    World
    Leviathan
    Main Class
    Gladiator Lv 21

what'd i do wrong?

so ive had this game for only a couple days. i was doing my second story line dungeon when i was cussed out by a white mage for not tanking "properly". understand that being the tanker means i take all the hits for the party, but every so often, a creature would break off of me and attack the white mage ONLY. id stop what im doing and shield bash it or flash and itd lock back on to me. eventually, he stops healing me and i end up dying, followed by the rest of them. am i still at fault? if it is, what can i do to prevent it? i use flash every 5 to 6 hits and i link my combos. do i have to target the creature i want with flash or does it just work for all creatures around me? im a bit new to this enmity thing.
    (4)
    Last edited by MateriaZ; 12-17-2013 at 06:39 AM.

Player
    Character
    Mimay Highwind
    World
    Coeurl
    Main Class
    Dragoon Lv 90
    You probably didn't do anything wrong. The white mage was probably the highest level player....even though the dungeon will sync your level back somehow the game knows. Most likely because of the gear level the character is wearing. Those critters will attack the mage more often, they should have been prepared for it. But now you know...be on the lookout for strays
    (2)

Player
    Character
    Ampersand Kai
    World
    Gilgamesh
    Main Class
    Pugilist Lv 50
    First off, don't take it too hard when someone gets in your face. Some people are overly aggressive. Some people especially have it in for tanks, some for healers, some for DPS. These same people are also often fairly clueless about the jobs they rag on. Don't let it get to you.