Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Player
    Character
    Wilameaux Mingalin
    World
    Sargatanas
    Main Class
    Arcanist Lv 26

A Level 23 Arcanist Who's Annoying Everyone I "Party" With...And Wants To Stop

First things first, I'm new to the world of MMORPG's. Problem is, I'm annoying everyone I party with because I don't know what I'm doing.

Here's what happened at the Cooperfield Mines:

- I got yelled at for pulling out my Topaz Carbuncle. Why? I have no idea.
    - They refused to move unless I put away said carbuncle. Again, I have no idea why.
    - They were spouting words like DFS and tanking. I think the tanking guy is the character responsible for drawing the main enemies attention, but I could be wrong.
    - I also have no idea what a DFS is.

In short, I want to go on these parties and not be the guy who screws things up and can't even ask questions to get help.

If anybody could point me toward some resources or simply tell me what I should be doing as a Arcanist in a group situation, please do. I don't want to suck any longer.

Thanks in advance!
    (0)

Player
    Character
    Astral Burn
    World
    Hyperion
    Main Class
    Archer Lv 70
    Topaz Carbuncle is a tank pet. You shouldn't be using that in dungeons at all. Cause it can pull hate from the tank and sometimes cause problems.
    (2)

Player
    Character
    Deneb Algiedi
    World
    Leviathan
    Main Class
    Astrologian Lv 70
    The topaz carbuncle is considered the "tanking" pet for arcanists. All of its skills are pre-loaded with enmity generation, meaning it's attacks are designed to make the enemy think you're doing more damage than you actually are. This results in your pet attracting many attacks from the enemies that should be going to the tank. If you know what you're doing and you talk it out with you group beforehand, it might work.