Spirit game mechanics are bugged

Hello. I've been playing since 2003, and I encountered this bug around 2004. Since then I've tried most things to get this bug fixed, but felt mostly just ignored. I tried POL bug report, calling GM, posting on favored FFXI forums and even the new twitter feed.

Bug description:
    When giving commands to your spirit, their personal spell timers get set to max recast.

Steps to reproduce:
    A)
    1) Summon a light spirit.
    2) Face it towards yourself.
    3) Keep using retreat every 10 seconds.

The result is that your spirit never casts any spells, because their spell timers get reset each time.

B)
    1) Summon a fire spirit.
    2) Wait 3 minutes (obviously the recast of spells are shorter than 3 minutes)
    3) Assault an enemy.

Here you'll notice that even though you've waited 3 minutes on the spell timers, they get reset to max on assaulting and no spell is cast instantly.

Why is this a bug?

My reasoning is that if a Summoner has Avatars with 60 seconds Blood Pact recasts that do not reset, why do spirits who have 50 seconds spell timer recasts reset on assault? And why doesn't a Warriors berserk ability reset to 5 min each time they engage a monster? (To pull an insane comparison to show my point)

For the sake of functionality, you have to be able to let your timers count down between battles so they can be ready at the start of a battle. Especially in a game where battles are short. As my examples show, you can not have timers resetting every time a battle starts, unless you never want to see the job ability or spell happen.