Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    NOC NOC_NA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hidden
    Posts
    1,523

    Internet Instability Issue (Aug. 25)

    We are currently experiencing some internet instability issues and are investigating further.

    However, as these problems do not originate from the Square Enix servers, if you are unable to log in or are disconnected from the network, we ask that you please wait a while and try to log in again. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
    (1)

  2. #2
    NOC NOC_NA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hidden
    Posts
    1,523

    Internet Instability Issue (Aug. 25): Follow-up

    We have an update regarding the ongoing internet instability situation.

    On Aug. 24, 2017 at around 8:30 p.m. (PDT) / Aug. 25, 2017 3:30 (GMT) / 4:30 (BST), upper-tier Internet Service Providers (ISP) experienced technical difficulties which led to a major disruption of internet communications throughout Japan.

    This issue caused backbone routers (equipment which provides communication between ISPs, for example, through upper-tier networks) to experience extremely heavy load, and at around Aug. 25, 2017 12:16 a.m. (PDT) / 7:16 (GMT) / 8:16 (BST), resulted in a shutdown in a section of backbone routers that connect with Square Enix servers, thus cutting off communications to our servers.

    *Our login and game servers are operating as normal.

    Due to this, at around 2:21 a.m. (PDT) / 9:21 (GMT) / 10:21 (BST) we changed what network settings we could on our end to circumvent the downed backbone routers, but we then received information that the same issue was also occurring on other backbone routers serving ISPs used by our players. Thus, it is possible that a solution may take some time.

    We are continuing to investigate, but if you are unable to log in or are disconnected from the network, we ask that you please wait a while and try to log in again. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
    (1)