Character
    Shadowbringer
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    BST Lv 99

How to install FFXI on new laptop?

Ok so I went out and got a windows 7 pro hp laptop just for ffxi because my Xbox 360 version will end next year.I went onto the official download site and saved the 4 files listed "FFXISETUP" "data 001" "data 002" " data 003" ,I can see all 4 files saved in my downloads folder as 4 different files.instructions on site says double click the "FFXISETUP" file to start the installation process,when I do that all it says is windows can't open this file and suggests I go on net to look for a program to open it or look for one already installed to laptop.the laptop is brand new and I am completely new to using one too so if anyone knows what I'm missing or what im doing wrong please let me know,thx.
    (0)

Character
    Zarchery
    World
    Asura
    Main Class
    MNK Lv 99
    Is this on Windows? What version?

From the error you got it sounds like you clicked the wrong file. There should be a file that ends in .exe or .bat.... though actually that's misleading because Windows won't show the file extensions by default. There should be a column in the file explorer window that shows a list of file types. If not, you'll have to set the view to "Details" so that you can see the file types.

Unless the "Type" for your file is "Application" or "Batch", you won't be able to run it by double clicking. What is the type for the file you tried to run?
    (0)

Character
    Shadowbringer
    World
    Shiva
    Main Class
    BST Lv 99