Character
    Einalem
    World
    Quetzalcoatl
    Main Class
    SCH Lv 99

The Conceptual Problem with Geomancer

I'm currently a lvl 35 Geomancer, so I'm by no means an expert in the field of Geomancy.
    This is more my take on looking at Geomancer and voicing a bit of frustration at Square-Enix design process.

I'm going to get Geo up to 49 at least. I haven't tried subbing it to another job, but my understanding so far is: no Handbell = no Geocolure spells. What I don't currently know is whether subbed Handbell skill adds to Indicolure potency. If it doesn't, then this is a horrible subjob! (and that becomes gripe number 1: subjob viability isn't balanced, but that's not a gripe exclusive to Geomancer)

It seems like Colure spells are designed to be sparse. You should only ever have one out. The basic problem with this is, if Colures are unique, why are their bonuses so linear? It's like they are trying to make Geomancer just like Bard and Corsair, but with more graphical, resource, and effect restrictions (at least I assume Colure spells are graphic intensive on the whole).

It's like Square-Enix said, "We have a lot of levels to cover, let's stick in 30 incredibly narrowly defined buffs and debuffs so that players think they have a lot of nifty toys, even though they can only use 2 at a time!"

When I'm reading these forums, I see players asking for the ability to put more Geo effects out at the same time. It makes sense. I understand this desire. The sad part is that the design premise of Geomancer looks like it wasn't executed at a fundamental level.

There should be less Geomancy spells in general, but their effects should encompass more. This would validate a 2 Geomancy effect restriction.