Hybrid View

Character
    Nzinga
    World
    Siren
    Main Class
    WHM Lv 99

Fighting Maat

So I have been playing this game for a couple months now and have finally leveled my RDM to 70. Which means the Maat fight. I heard stories about how it is the hardest fight and after stalking the wiki I think I am going to go for the sleep/nuke tactic. Which basically involves me going in and putting up all my buffs. Then sleep Maat, then dispel, then Aero III, and then sleep and repeat.

I was wondering if there are other RDM who fought him and if you had any advice. Thank you!
    (0)

I fought him back in the olden days when he was at his hardest, took me 2 tries but this is what I did.

Cap your Evasion/Enfeebling/Elemental Skill
    Get x2 Bat Earrings
    Equip NQ/HQ Wind Staff
    Bring at least 2x Blind Potions and whatever meds you might need, I highly recommend you stay away from Ethers lower than Pro-Ether because they have a long cast time and give little mp in return.

A general rundown of the fight:

When you enter immedately run up to where you can see Maat, DO NOT buff yourself until you can see what Maat's buffing himself with. This is important because Maat might cast blink off the bat, if you try sleeping him and he has it up you leave yourself open to Asuran Fists without warning and that can ruin the entire fight.

After you've run up too Maat and buffed, and used a blind potion on yourself, if he's casted blink use quick spells like tier I nukes to wipe his shadows asap then sleep him. Get some distance, dispel his buffs, and enfeeble him, if he's about to wake up wait to resleep him before you start nuking.

From there you can keep Nuke>Sleeping, reapplying debuffs, using meds, and blind potions as they wear. At roughly 60-50% of his health you can Chainspell to finish him off which he'll give up roughly 15-30% hp (it seems random).
    (0)

Player
    Don't gear retardedly.
    Eat Creampuffs.
    Sleep/nuke.
    Win.