Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Character
    Oomba
    World
    Carbuncle
    Main Class
    THF Lv 21

New and Looking for Advice

I'm brand new to FFXI and on the second or third day of my free trial run. To be honest, the main reason I started playing was to fulfill my obsessive need to experience every Final Fantasy game at least once.

However, now that I'm wrapping my head around the basics of the game, I'm actually starting to have fun and I think I may actually want to invest in playing beyond the one month trial. I'm still a little bit hesitant about doing that though after reading through some of the posts on this forum. From what I think I understand, it's kind of difficult for newbies to enjoy FFXI these days due to a lack of available linkshells or help from other players? Is it really all that problematic to solo through this game?

So yeah, I was just hoping someone could give me proper insight on all that, and maybe some advice on how to find help for quests and missions that are easier with a party.
    (0)

Character
    Aarahs
    World
    Quetzalcoatl
    Main Class
    DRG Lv 99
    I would say make friends. Just a few friends will help you network into a bigger group. I would recommend trying whm, you'll get some invites and you can build from there. Build a good reputation and a lot more options will pop up.
    (0)

Character
    Soranika
    World
    Bismarck
    Main Class
    SMN Lv 95
    Gonna agree with Aarahs. Don't be scared to talk to people. Some can be more sociable and enjoyable to be around even if they aren't necessarily the "best". I have an alt character on Carbuncle if you ever want to play when I'm on. Still in low levels without a lot of access travel a lot, but I'm pretty knowledgeable enough to help and get you around.
    (0)
    Main Job: SMN95 <Hvergelmir 85 obtained 9/10/11>
    Side Jobs: WHM95 DNC95
    Gimp Jobs: SCH95 NIN95
    Quote Originally Posted by Kimikryo View Post